Jam

I haven’t made much jam in my life.  Some raspberry stuff a few years ago, but that’s about it.  However, there is no time like the present to do such things.  Especially when one buys way too much summer fruit, and can’t eat it all before it starts to go bad.  This weekend, I had a whole bunch of cherries and peaches that were both getting a bit on the ripe side.

So I made two different kinds of jam – cherry and peach vanilla bean.  Both are quite good, although I got a little carried away with the vanilla bean in the peach jam because one pod looked a little dry and I scraped out another one just in case, so next time I think I’d only scrape one pod instead.  The cherry is a little more on the syrupy side than the jammy side, since I didn’t have enough pectin, but it tastes good!  So I consider this round a success.

Spring 2014 566b Spring 2014 604b

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Fruit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

