Ice Cream Month!

July is ice cream month!  Yay!  And so to celebrate I made ice cream sandwiches.  Well, actually I made them the last day in June for a girls’ night, but that’s close enough to July for me.  I had made the brownie roll out cookies from my Smitten Kitchen cookbook and it made WAY more than I needed to bring to church camp.  They were the perfect size for ice cream sandwiches, I decided, so I froze them until I had all the ice cream ready.

Assembling them is not that hard, but you have to do it quickly or else the little ice cream patty melts in your hand.  We had a little assembly line going so not too many of them got melty.  Then freeze them for a couple hours so they are firm again.  Super fast.  You don’t even have to make anything yourself if you don’t want to heat up your house making cookies.  Buy some thinnish cookies, buy your favourite kind of ice cream, spread some ice cream into a thin layer in a casserole type dish, freeze until firm.  Find a cookie cutter that matches the cookie shape, and cut out the ice cream.  Wrap the sandwich in plastic wrap and place in the basement freezer so you don’t eat them all at once.

Spring 2013 571

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Food, Ice Cream, Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ice Cream Month!

  1. Pingback: Happy 2014 | ksquared365

Leave a Reply

