French Toast Cupcakes

A couple of years ago, it was all the rage for food blogs, food competetion shows, food magazines, to include bacon in all sorts of things that perhaps might be better without crumbled meat.  Like ice cream, or baked in cakes, or whatever.  I much prefer bacon to go with savoury things, like baked potatoes, or with pancakes for breakfast.  Not so much in dessert.

However, I found a recipe for French Toast cupcakes in a magazine, and the accompanying photo had bacon crumbled over the top.  I made the cupcakes, but was unsure about sprinkling the bacon on top of them, since I was unsure how others felt about meat on their cupcakes.  So I brought it in a dish on the side and people could try it if they wanted.  Surprisingly, with this particular cupcake that is frosted with a maple syrup-y flavoured frosting, bacon works pretty well.  Kind of like breakfast.  I am still not too sure about making bacon into ice cream.

Spring 2013 196b

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in cupcakes, Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

