Workshop

I have been looking for a photography workshop to attend for a while now.  The trouble in living in a smaller city is that it is usually the photographers that live in large cities that put on workshops/classes and they do it one night per week for six to eight weeks.  The distance makes it somewhat difficult to attend those classes.  I’ve noticed that they also usually offer their classes during the winter (which is probably the time of year they are least busy), and weather can be uncooperative in this province in winter (like right now, I can barely see to the end of my driveway, which is about one hundred metres long).

So last fall I did a google search for weekend photography workshops and I found a couple. One of which is offered by a photographer from Saskatchewan, a storm/tornado chaser, actually, and he travels around to communities in the province and does these workshops for a weekend.  So I signed up and went this past weekend.  It was really good; we went over some things about cameras that were new to some people in the class and was good review for me (always good to refresh one’s memories as to the proper techniques/camera functions) and I learned a lot of new, important things that I am looking forward to practicing to make myself and my pictures better.  We spent quite a bit of time each day shooting and practicing the things we were learning, which I found was very handy.  These two photos are actually my favourite ones that I took.  The stairs one I was lying on the landing of the staircase, and shooting up the stairs, but at first glance, you can’t really tell if you are looking up or down.  I thought it was neat.  (Also, if you are curious about the workshop, his name is Greg Johnson and the website is Tornadohunter.ca (workshop section is here – I’d recommend it if you live around the province and are interested.)

Fall 992b Fall 1024b

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plant life, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Workshop

  1. Joni says:

    Greg Johnson is one of my favorite photographers!! That’s so stellar you went to his workshop!

Leave a Reply

