Ready to Roll

This weekend I get to be involved in setting a world record.  A couple of months ago, at that conference we put on at church, a man asked me if I would consider  being a photographer, one of about 20 I think, for the world record attempt at having the most combines harvesting simultaneously on one field.  The proceeds from the grain that is sold, (and I think donations that are taken at the field) go to send kids (that live in countries like Kenya) to camp for a week, and then provide that child with a weekly followup program for the rest of the year.  They get food and games and crafts, etc.  In short they get to be a kid.  This is a Christian charity, so the program is run through a local church in or close to their village.  You can find out more here:  harvestforkids.com

Anyway, last night after I drove to Saskatoon, I headed out to Dalmeny just to see where I am supposed to go today.  It’s amazing how many combines there are..  They weren’t quite all there yet, but there was about 180 there, with more arriving.  I took this shot, but one whole row (which will be about one third of them), even from that far away, can’t all fit in one photo.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Harvest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

