Surprise!

Last week was my mom’s 60th birthday.  A few months ago, Dad and I decided that since that was a multiple of 10 birthday, that she should get a party.  My brother and sister in law agreed  At first I thought it was going to be a not surprise party, but then since we planned it out in the field over the CB radio it became a surprise party.  We made a guest list and sent out invitations, and planned food and everything, and she suspected nothing.

It became increasingly difficult to keep it secret, because I had it on my mind a lot, and when something is on your mind you tend to want to talk about it.  In the end, no one spilled the beans, and  she only figured it out when they drove onto the church lot (we had it in the gym, because we invited so many people) and she saw a bunch of cars that belong to people who are not generally at our church.  So it was a success, I say.  All the food was consumed (8 pieces of cake left over, 4 that I had to take home, and 4 that my brother took home), I got rid of all 12 centrepieces, and much fun was had by all, I hope.  I didn’t get too many pictures, since I was busy cutting cake and doing other things, but I did get a couple.

Cake – half was chocolate with hazelnut filling, half was lime with coconut filling.  When I was frosting the cake at church, my buttercream split and I had to dash home an hour before the party started to make more.  I made the easy kind then, though, not the cooked kind.

Flowers – I just bought a bunch of loose flowers and arranged them into a fall-ish bouquet.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert, Fall, Flowers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprise!

  1. Calvin Rempel says:

    Way to go, Kathy! We sure would have enjoyed celebrating with you. I’m sure your mom was pleased…

  2. Hilda says:

    It certainly was a great time!

Leave a Reply

