Thunderstorm Watch

We’ve had a somewhat humid and warm summer here.  That has resulted in quite a few thunderstorm watches and warnings, and we even spent one whole day in a tornado warning.  That is unusual for this area.  We get the occasional tornado watch, but don’t generally spend an entire day under a warning.

These storms have produced a lot of sketchy looking clouds, as well a pretty rainbows, along with a lot of lightning and thunder.  The other day we had lightning hit a couple hundred metres away from where we were.  There was a very loud bang accompanying the bolt of lightning.  That’s when we decided that the storm was too close to still be working around the silo, even if we were under shelter.  I didn’t have my camera that day until later when the clouds were looking a little strange as they moved east, but I did on Monday night when there was another storm with a lot of lightning.  The trees were kind of in my way when the storm was closest, but once it was safer I went out on the driveway.

(Following a storm a couple weeks ago)This week

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Storms, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thunderstorm Watch

  1. Rachel says:

    I love storms (minus hail), so this summer has been great! One day I was talking to my dad on the phone during a storm at their place. He was standing on the heat register when a lightning struck, and it was close enough that he got a shock through his toes. I think that would be a little too close for me o.O

  2. Pingback: Top Twelve | ksquared365

Leave a Reply

