Crop Report

So the crops have mostly rebounded from last month’s cool, wettish weather.  Some spots got kind of drowny, but the rest seems to be ok.  Strangely, it seems to be the lentils which recovered the best.  Usually they are the second to succumb to bad weather, right after canola (well, peas would actually be first, but we don’t plant those things anymore.)

Last Sunday I wandered up to my canola field, because the clouds were a nice shade of pink, and that is the highest/best spot to shoot pink clouds from.  I ended up with some nice ones of the canola, I thought, and also of this monarch-type (I think) butterfly.  Although he wouldn’t open his wings all the way for me, and every time I moved even the slightest bit he would fly away and then come back.  So I spent a long time sitting in the dirt waiting for him to land close to me and open his wings.  This is as good as it got.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Plant life, Summer, Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crop Report

  1. Pingback: Top Twelve | ksquared365

Leave a Reply

