Cake, cake and more cake

Last weekend was full of cake.  I made two different types of cupcakes and a layer cake in just over 24 hours.  My friends came over on Friday night and we made one type of cupcake, and then had a sleepover.  It was fun.

So the first type of cupcake was one that I had made before.  They are hot fudge sundae cupcakes, inspired by this recipe and this recipe, and then kind of made my own way.  I used my favourite chocolate cupcake recipe for these.  I thought they were suitable, given that it was for our annual Grand Prix night at church, where the AWANA kids build cars and then race them.  Fun cupcakes for a fun night!

Then, after the race, we came to my house, and made hummingbird cupcakes (for our ladies’ spring tea), which are from my Martha Stewart cupcake book, but the recipe for them is all over the internet too.  Our pineapple flowers were cut a little thick, I think, because after they had been in the oven drying out for a long time, we gave up, took them out and went to bed.  I tried again in the morning, by increasing the oven temperature and a couple of them came out right.  Of course, once they sat on the cream cheese icing for a little bit, the moisture made them all damp again, and they flopped over.  Looked nice for awhile though.

And then, I made a birthday cake for four of my friends.  Two of them live far away and were here visiting for the week, and two live here.  So since their birthdays are all within a month of each other, I made the cake now.  I have been dying to make this Neapolitan cake since I saw it and I am so glad I did.  I’ve made the icing before, and it is amazing, as was the entire cake, really.  The lighting was kind of dim in the house, but you get the general idea.

 

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, cupcakes, Dessert, Food, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cake, cake and more cake

  1. Pingback: Top Twelve | ksquared365

Leave a Reply

