Lemony Fresh

Recently our grocery stores started carrying Meyer lemons.  Usually we just get the normal lemons, but apparently now we are special enough to get special lemons.  Which is good, because I had been wondering what was so different about them.  It seems that they are a little sweeter than real lemons, kind of closer to an orange.  And they are small, so it takes a lot to get enough juice to do anything with.

A couple weeks ago, I had bought a pound or so, with the intent of making a lemon bar recipe that I had come across.  I followed all the directions, but when I took it out of the oven, it was a definite fail.  It was all kind of dried up and had a weird top.  I could actually pick it up out of the pan without cutting it.  So last week I bought another bag, picked a similar recipe, but from a blog that I have used a few more times (followed her source link back to the original recipe and kind of combined the two recipes), and tried again.  I had to bake it about ten to fifteen minutes longer than the recipe, so I was a little concerned about another failure, but it worked out.  It was worth the second try, because they are really good.  As well as really lemony.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Fruit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemony Fresh

  1. Rachel says:

    Mmmmmm…those look good! I haven’t had lemon bars in a long time.

Leave a Reply

