Baked Oatmeal, part II

In case you were all sitting on pins and needles waiting for a bathroom renovation update, it is going quite well.  The tub surround is in, and the drywall is patched and mudded (the mudding I even did myself, thank you very much), and primed.  Even the counter top is gone.  We are going to buy a new one on Saturday, although I am unsure if we have to order one, or if they may have one in store there.  Once it is done, perhaps I shall do a little photo essay here.

But, now on to today’s picture.  A long time ago, I wrote about baked oatmeal, which is one of my favourite breakfasts.  Recently, I had seen a new recipe floating around the internets, a baked oatmeal that you made with fruit.  This sounded promising, I thought.  So I dragged myself out of bed half an hour earlier this morning, put it all together (which is very quick, 5-10 minutes tops), popped it in the oven and headed back for bed.  Then, when I woke up, I had the lovely smell floating through my house.  It was really tasty, although I was not a fan of the texture that the bananas turned into.  It is possible that they were just way too ripe (because they were about at banana bread stage), and that’s why they turned to mush.  Apparently, you can sub in other fruits.  I for one, am itching to make it with apples and cranberries.

And here’s a bathroom picture, because I just can’t resist.  

 

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

