Rest stop

Yesterday, I went to pick up some scaffolding from a neighbour’s house, and on the way there I passed a field full of geese.  Just standing there, hanging out.  I am sure there were thousands of geese there.  There were a couple cruising around, stretching their wings, but for the most part, they were just standing around.  Like some sort of huge goose convention.  Of course, that’s the one time I don’t bring the camera along.  So when I went past there later on my way to town, I had the camera, and wouldn’t you know it, all the geese were gone.  All of them.

So on our way to return the scaffolding today, we saw some a little ways off the road.  This time they were hanging out on a slough in the middle of a pasture.  So I went back there a little later and parked the truck a half mile away, so as not to scare them, then I walked closer.  I got about a quarter mile away from the closest geese and then they freaked out.  Actually I imagine they are something like pigs, one freaks out and the rest follow because it is the thing to do.  So I crouched down, and they ALL zoomed over my head really low and all honking.  After they settled down a bit I got a little closer and it didn’t take long before they all took off again.  I think I ruined their rest stop.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Animals, Fall and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

