Northern Lights

I had another post written, (in my head, anyway) and the pictures taken, but something else came up while we were finishing up chores, something that doesn’t happen too often.  The northern lights came out to play.  They were amazing.  It kind of looked like a circus tent right above the yard, because there was a knot of light with red and white shafts coming down from it, and then the normal green ones that we always get.  It’s rare to see red ones this far south.  I’ve only seen them one other time, and that was when we were hauling bales at 2am several years ago.

When I came home from volleyball, they were still going, and since I had a feeling this would happen I had taken my camera and its really low battery to town.  I stopped close to home and took some shots without my tripod, but then went home and got the tripod to take some steadier ones.  All the while hoping that the battery wouldn’t go all the way dead.  After freezing my fingers for twenty minutes or so I decided I had enough good ones.  I am actually quite pleased with them for a first try at shooting Northern Lights.  I would love to sit and watch them all night, but hopefully they come back again soon. (The first one was taken without my tripod and that’s why there are so many red lights.  Because I was moving.  It’s hard to stand stock still for 20 seconds.)

 

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Fall, Night Sky and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Northern Lights

  1. Pingback: Top Ten | ksquared365

Leave a Reply

