Cranberries

Up until last year, I had not had fresh cranberries.  I had mostly consumed Craisins, which are very tasty by themselves, and added to trail mix, banana bread, pumpkin bread, muffins, etc.  They really have so many uses, just like actual raisins.  I think that I had, especially around Thanksgiving/Christmas, had real cranberry sauce, not just the canned stuff, but I had not purchased real live cranberries.

Last year that changed, and I am happy that it did.  I really like using fresh cranberries in stuff during fall.  Craisins are fine the rest of the year, but fresh ones are much nicer in fall.  Plus they are cheaper to buy.  I got a Taste of Home holiday magazine as a gift last weekend, and I am itching to try a couple recipes in there that need fresh cranberries.  Hurray fall baking!

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Fall, Food, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cranberries

  1. Yummy, they look so much like coffee beans, I’ve never seen fresh cranberries before

Leave a Reply

