Birthday project

Not my birthday, but my grandpa’s.  He is turning 85 this month, and we are having an informal party for him on Sunday afternoon.  Probably mostly family, although a few of his friends may pop by too.  I found out about this party/get together thing on Sunday, and decided to phone my aunt to see if she minded if I made the cake.  She didn’t mind, so I started searching for the perfect cake.

The perfect cake in this case had to be a carrot cake.  Grandpa loves carrot cake.  If it has pineapple and/or coconut in it, that’s even better.  He just doesn’t really like the cream cheese icing.  This is hard for me to wrap my head around, because that is probably my favourite part.   Today, since it was chilly and rainy, and I might be gone on Saturday, I baked the cake and a batch of cupcakes, since we aren’t too sure how many people will be there.  I intend to fill them with a coconut filling and ice them and the cake with a plain cream cheese icing on Sunday afternoon.  We’ll see how that all turns out.  Hopefully I don’t drop it.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert, Food, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday project

  1. hi cathy just found your blog and your cakes look awesome! i made some the other day would love to know what you think? im pretty terrible at the baking but i love to decorate
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/08/27/to-your-posts-let-the-bake-off-begin/

  2. Pingback: Top Ten | ksquared365

Leave a Reply

