Amphibians

Generally, when we have a wet year, we start seeing amphibians popping up all over the place. Nothing huge, like giant toads or anything, but little frogs and salamanders can be seeing hopping and crawling through the grass. Sometimes we’d even find them downstairs in my parents house, since it has an unfinished basement, which tends to get damp, or we’d find them in the barn. I think they are interesting little creatures since we don’t get them very often around here.

Today, as I was unloading the truck on the yard, I saw the grass moving, and at first I thought it was a mouse, or worse, a rat. Then I realized it was just a salamander, and not a rat. So I retrieved my camera from the truck and tried to get close enough without him running away. At first he curled up into a ball and played dead, then he uncurled and just remained still while I took his picture. Apparently he thinks he is a movie star.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Animals, Farm Life, Random, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Amphibians

  1. Rachel says:

    He’d make a pretty awesome movie star…he’s certainly got the looks!

Leave a Reply

