Barley

In my continuing saga of our crops and their growth, I have covered hay, silage, wheat and canola. I realized I had not yet done barley. For a long time, most of the barley fields looked kind of sad. It was the last crop that we seeded, except for some oats, and it rained a lot right after it had been seeded. So it seemed like it might stay really short, and that makes it extra hard to combine.

But then it stopped raining, and got sunny, and suddenly the barley started growing. Considering I had seeded a lot of it into mud, it is impressive how much of it recovered from that. It is actually quite tall now, for barley, and the heads are starting to fill out. Now, since it was seeded kind of late, it needs to hurry up and ripen before it freezes.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

