Up In Smoke

My day has been filled with unfortunate smells.  Ok, well, it has mostly just been the evening.  We are going to start filling the silos tomorrow, which means we had to lift the unloader tonight.  This requires going into a mostly empty silo, and unplugging, and unbolting stuff, so that it can be lifted up to the top so the silo can be filled.  Since we have emptied it quite far this year, the stuff on the bottom has been there for quite a few years.  And it does not smell nice.  Even though I didn’t actually climb into the silo, just stood by the door, I still smell bad.

Remember these tree piles?  Well, they have been working on burning them for the past week, but it takes a little while for them to burn.  Until today the wind had mostly been blowing the smoke away from my house.  Today, though, they re-piled them and lit them up again, and a lovely southwest breeze has been carrying that lovely smoke right into my yard for most of the day.  The smoke did look pretty neat against the sunset and I figured I already smelled bad, and my house already smelled like smoke, so I might as well walk up to them.  Couldn’t make me smell any worse.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Summer, Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

