Cattails

One Christmas, we had almost no snow.  In fact, the only snow I think we had was a little bit up against the trees.  It was so nice that my cousins and I went for a walk down by the creek.  Undoubtedly we were sent outside to stop driving the adults crazy.  We went to one of the parks in town, and wandered along the walking trail that runs alongside the creek.  We came upon some cattails that were within easy reach and my two cousins and I each picked one.  I had that thing in my room for a long time.

I was under the impression that cattails only grew beside creeks and in still bodies of water.  Apparently they can even grow where they have never grown before.  We have some this year close to our dam, where there was a little creek in spring.  Now it has basically stopped flowing and there are just still pools of water.  Which seems to be what cattails like.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Plant life, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

