Saskatoons

Note:  For some reason, WordPress occasionally doesn’t post my posts when I press publish.  So even though I wrote this one yesterday and posted it, it never published.  And then I don’t notice it until I go to write the current day’s post.  So I guess today you get two.

Last year my saskatoon bushes produced more berries than I have ever seen them produce.  Of course it might have helped that the birds that usually eat them didn’t seem to be around last year, and we strung a net all over the bushes just in case.  I picked enough to make two pies, my mom picked a bunch for herself and some for my grandma, and I think I even gave a pail away to my friends.  It was a lot for such a small patch of saskatoons.

This year, though, even though they bloomed a lot, there are almost no berries.  I imagine it has something to do with the fact that my garden was a lake for a long time this spring.  And it did kind of freeze right around the time they were done blooming.  So even though they are nearly ripe, I don’t hold out much hope that I will get any, since those annoying birds are here this year, and the massive amounts of snow tore all the net.  Maybe next year.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Plant life, Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

