Wildflower

I headed back out to the wheat field today with the intention of finding some wild roses.  I know that they grow around a rock pile out there, and when I was there last week, I noticed that they were just barely starting to bloom.  I figured if I gave them several more days, I’d be able to catch them in full bloom.  It turns out that I should have not waited so long.  They were either all done blooming already, or something had eaten the flowers.

My little excursion was not in vain, though, for I found a couple of things.  First, my wheat is starting to head out.  This is rather exciting.  Second, I found some of my favourite purple wildflowers there that were still in full bloom.  We have some in our backyard too, but these ones out in the middle of the field seem more wild to me.  I have no idea what they are, but they smell really nice.  If I would have had a knife, I would have brought some home with me.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plant life, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wildflower

  1. Hilda says:

    Kathy; I could not find it in my Wildflowers Across the Prairies book; it might be a tame flower “gone to seed”;)

    • Kathy says:

      Hm, you may be right. I only ever see them in places where there is a lot of grass, like backyards, and had no idea if they were a wildflower or what they are. They don’t seem to be as rampant as other flowers, which is a shame, because they are pretty and smell nice. I was thinking that maybe they were a relative of lilacs. Same colour, similar scent and blossom shape.

  2. Irene says:

    So I asked one of our profs who is a “plant expert”, and he says this is a bad guy. A weed, actually, although it does have very pretty flowers. The plant is called Hesperis matronalis, commonly known as Dame’s-rocket. It’s from the mustard family of plants, and can take over native prairie grasses if left alone.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh dear. That is most unfortunate. i don’t think we have any native prairie grasses left in our yard, though, so maybe it is ok if I let them live. They don’t seem to be taking over anything, although maybe they are just lulling us into a false sense of security.

Leave a Reply

