Lilacs

I think that my favourite smell of spring is lilacs.  I have been waiting for a while now for mine to bloom.  The ones in town always bloom a little earlier than mine do, and it makes me impatient when I drive through the city and see all those pretty purple flowers everywhere.  Happily, mine started to open up in the past couple of days.  I imagine they were just waiting for the sun.

There must be a couple of different kinds of lilac on my yard, because one kind blooms and then once they are done, the other bushes start.  That just means I get to enjoy them for longer.  And then, at the barn, there are miniature ones, and they bloom even later!  It just seems to make spring last a little longer, before turning into summer.  But then I get peonies, so it is a good tradeoff.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plant life, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lilacs

  1. Rudolf Vlček says:

    nice work!

  2. Hilda says:

    Do you have different colors? We’ve got “double” white ones that are incredibly fragrant; also some darker purple than the traditional lilac that are fun too (except for my husband who is allergic to fragrances:(

    • Kathy says:

      Nope, I just have the purple ones, although some seem to be a little bit darker than others. By the barn at home there are some lilacs that have really small, dark purple flowers, and those ones are very fragrant too. I like them.

Leave a Reply

