Moss

It has been said that a rolling stone gathers no moss.  That is very likely true.  However, as I have learned this year, in a wet year, anything that is not moving can grow moss.  Even the ground, strange as that may seem.  A whole bunch of our fields were covered in moss this spring, and even now, the ones that have been seeded have kind of started growing it again.  And here I though moss was limited to trees and various old wooden structures.  Guess not.

At the back of our yard there is a wood pile.  In this wood pile is a mother fox and her baby foxes.  Apparently the little ones come out of the wood pile on sunny days and sit in the sun.  So even though it had been rainy and cool all day I still went back there, without the dog of course, as she had visited them earlier in the day.  Alas, they would not come out, but I could hear them in there.  After waiting for a while I resigned myself to the fact that I would have to wait until it was sunny, and contented myself by taking pictures of the multi-coloured moss that was growing on their wood pile.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Plant life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

