More mud

I have a feeling this will be a regular photography subject this spring.  Because there is a lot of it out there.  Which quickly becomes apparent when you are pulling several tons of steel and grain behind another couple tons of tractor.  When it starts to slip, you’d better lift the shovels and hope you make it to dry ground.  The sprayer truck found this particularly difficult today, and got stuck three times.  Maybe even four.  I lost count.

Even the drill got stuck today, which may make it seem like I told a lie yesterday when I said the tractor would never get stuck.  It doesn’t.  But the drill does, and then you have to unhook.  The tractor crawls right out of the the deep ruts it just made and instead you have to pull the drill out by chain.  Side note:  There is actually water in those ruts by the drill hitch.  Water that is not on the surface.  The water table is so high, it seeps into the ruts almost immediately.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Spring, Stuck and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More mud

  1. Rachel says:

    I think that will be a common sight for all farmers…I know that my family has gotten stuck a few times already too. At least it’s warmed up a bit and everyone can at least try to seed.

    • Kathy says:

      Indeed. I feel bad for people in the southeast who have lakes for fields and stuff. Not fun. At least we can drive on the field if we are careful.

Leave a Reply

