Yard flowers

It has decided to be cloudy and showery today.  Which is not exactly helpful since we wanted to seed this week.  The forecast isn’t looking too positive, but I am sure the sun will come out eventually.  Perhaps the weather people will change their minds by tomorrow and it’ll be sunny sooner than they thought.

Speaking of sun, the handful of warm days we have had since the snow melted seem to have been warm enough to grow flowers.  My tulips are not blooming quite yet, but when my grandma lived here, she planted pansies in her flower beds.  Pansies that have now seeded in the grass in the front yard.  The flower bed where they actually lived was overgrown and therefore tilled under long ago, but it is nice to see the little sprinkles of colour among the nice, green grass. 

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plant life, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yard flowers

  1. Hilda says:

    I’ve always called these little flowers “johnny jump ups”; & they are my favorite! They are so bright & sunny & will flower in the garden within a few inches of the snow bank, so it is one of the first flowers of spring in my garden…

    • Kathy says:

      Yeah, they are really pretty and springy. Probably because they are so colourful. I always thought they were some type of pansy, because Grandma had big ones that looked exactly like that, but I didn’t actually know what they were.

Leave a Reply

