Birthday Cake

Two of my friends have birthdays within a week of each other.  They are roommates, and I used to work with one of them at the hog barn.  A couple months ago, I decided to ask them what kind of birthday cake they wanted, and I would make it for them.  They never did decide, so I just picked one.  I couldn’t find one online that was exactly what I was looking for, so I combined elements from a couple of places and made what I wanted.  This afternoon, I made the cake using my lovely new mixer.  I do not know how I survived without it.  It makes baking so much less time consuming, because you can turn the mixer on and beat the icing for 5 minutes, while preparing other things, instead of standing there holding the hand mixer.  So nice.

Anyway, I brought it to them tonight, braving the muddy roads that I used to drive everyday.  It seemed to be a good choice of flavours.  I used Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake which happens to be an excellent chocolate cake.  I made three layers, but they were quite thin, and I probably could have gotten by only making two.  Ah, well.  More room for the tasty mocha filling that I got from one of my cookbooks.  Then I frosted it with my current favourite chocolate icing.  I made my first attempt at piping around the bottom.  Pretty good for a first try, I thought.  Funny story:  One of the layers broke when I was assembling the cake, so I used a toothpick to hold it together until I got the icing on.  But I forgot to take it out, and even with some gentle poking I couldn’t find it.  We found it though, when cutting the cake, so no one ended up with toothpicks in their throat.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, Dessert, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Cake

  1. Amy says:

    It was indeed a very tasty combination – the perfectly chocolate cake with the mocha filling. Thanks

Leave a Reply

