Apples, part II

Supper went pretty good today.  The youth were all walking around later complaining that they ate too much, which is a good problem for a cook to have.  My mom helped me out, which was nice, because I would not have been able to do it all myself.  Nothing went terribly wrong, which is a relief, considering the last two days that I have had.

Here’s the surprise!  Those lovely apples from yesterday were turned into lovely caramel apples!  I did cook one batch of caramel a little long and it got a little bit hard, so it was kind of difficult for them to bite into the apples, but they still were a big hit.  I love caramel apples, and now that I have made them a couple times, I know they are relatively easy to make, you just have to keep stirring so as to not burn the caramel.  And it takes a little while for it to reach the right temperature, so it sometimes feels like it’ll never got hot enough, but it does.  A few burned fingers later (that stuff is HOT), and you have tasty apples to enjoy.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apples, part II

  1. Bethea says:

    Wow! Those are beautiful caramel apples. I love the designs that you did. I love green apples with sweetness- and to bake with. I can’t wait for an occasion to make caramel apples this summer.

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks! I highly recommend this recipe. They are so good, especially with the little toffee bits and chocolate swirls. It just adds a little extra tastiness. I am glad I have some left over for myself.

  2. Pingback: Rufus Thinks I’m a Versatile Blogger « The Baker's Laboratory

  3. Those look so fun to make and even more fun to eat!

Leave a Reply

