Running water

My parents are away this week, so I am in charge of the cows, except for the milking, which a neighbour does for us when we are gone.  Since he is in the middle of calving, all he does is come and milk and I (attempt) to do everything else.  So far it has been going all right, the cows have been reasonably cooperative and no important machinery has broken (now that I say that, something will break in the morning).  The hardest part is getting up at 6am.  I am most definitely not a morning person.  6am is a time that should only be seen by roosters, not humans.  Anyway, on Wednesday, Dad and I were fixing things in preparation for them leaving, and I was noticing that the one cow seemed like she might calve.  Dad said she wasn’t due for a week and she should be ok.  But, during the evening milking while we were changing cows, she looked pretty close.  So I came back and checked her after kids club at church, with my brother in case we had to pull it, and it was born.  I was relieved that I wouldn’t have to get up at 2am and come check her.  Imagine my surprise in the morning when we were bringing her into the barn, and there was a second calf!  Twins!  Both girls!  It is better to have both be the same sex.  Good thing she didn’t have problems during the night.

Well, that was a really long story and not really what I wanted this post to be about.  After letting the cows out this afternoon for some fresh air, I drove around looking for a nice spot to take pictures.  I found a little stream running in one of our fields, and attempted to get close enough to take pictures.  No easy task when you have forgotten to wear boots.  I got to a little spot that wasn’t too muddy, and had a reasonable section of the stream.  The water is really clear and cold, and it seems like you could drink it.  Me and Tim actually did do this as children.  Maybe not the healthiest thing, but a little dirt never hurt anyone.  It’s the other potential things in the dirt that do the damage.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Animals, Farm Life, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

