Chocolate Cherry Bars

I hate those chocolates that have the maraschino cherry in them. Blech.  They are just not tasty at all.  I do love black forest cake though and I think it is because the ratio of chocolate to cherry is much greater.   Also generally the black forest cake has cherry pie filling, which is not as fake tasting as the maraschino cherry syrup.  We also all know my feelings for chocolate cake, so it just makes sense that I would pick cake over plain chocolates.

My mom used to make this dessert when I was a child, except my brother strongly dislikes black forest cake, and this was just too much like it for him.  So I did not get to eat it very often, which made it even better, because it was a treat.  The best part of it, I think, is the icing, because it has a slightly crunchy outer shell, but is liquidy/gooey underneath.  Yum.  I made these yesterday, but have eaten a rather embarrassing amount of them already.

Update:  People want to know the recipe, so here it is.  It comes from my mom’s recipe box.  I don’t know where she got it from.

Chocolate Cherry Bars

1 devil’s food cake mix                                                                                                                             2 eggs                                                                                                                                                          1 can cherry pie filling (I used a  540ml can, and it was the light variety)                                  1 tsp almond extract

For icing:

3 3/4 tbsp margarine                                                                                                                          3/4 cup sugar                                                                                                                                        1/4 cup milk                                                                                                                                          3/4 package milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a 10″x15″ cookie sheet.  In a medium mixing bowl combine all cake ingredients and stir to combine.  Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out with a few crumbs sticking to it.

To make icing, wait until bars have come out of the oven and cooled a bit.  Combine margarine, sugar and milk in a saucepan and heat to a boil, stirring constantly.  Boil for one minute, always stirring, then remove from heat and mix in chocolate chips, stirring until smooth.  Pour onto warm bars and quickly spread it out with a spatula.  Just a warning, the icing sets really quick. They also freeze really well.

Source:  Mom’s recipe box.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Cherry Bars

  1. Rachel says:

    Ooohh those look so good! I love black forest cake too…can I get the recipe?

Leave a Reply

