Wabbit

There is a herd (pack, flock, whatever) of jackrabbits around my yard.  I saw a set of four of them the other day.  I don’t mind them being here in the winter, when my garden is not growing food, but they have a tendency to treat my garden as a salad buffet.  Which it is supposed to be, except that I would like to be the one eating it, not the rabbits and deer.  Not even a radio set up to play the music of one of the FM stations was enough to drive them away.

Until now, though, I had always thought that there were just the jackrabbits around.  I had seen some smaller tracks recently, but not a smaller rabbit who would make those tracks.  This morning, I looked out my kitchen window, and there he was, sitting in my flower bed, apparently looking for leftover plant matter from the summer.  I had to take his picture through the window, as opening the door would have scared him away.  At least these smaller bunnies are much cuter than their larger cousin.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Animals, Black and White, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wabbit

  1. Rachel says:

    I would have thought for sure that the local FM radio stations would be enough to drive all living creatures far, far away!

    • Kathy says:

      You’d think so, but they apparently don’t mind it. Maybe I should tune it to a talk radio station instead, and annoy them with all the ads and news every half hour.

Leave a Reply

