Chocolate and strawberries

I like having pancakes for breakfast on Saturdays.  This morning I thought perhaps I would make my usual chocolate chip recipe, but I was in the mood for more chocolate.  More chocolate at breakfast is always better.  And, according to the Nutella ads, it’s healthy.  Plus, I had some strawberries left in the fridge to use up before they went bad.  Chocolate and strawberries go together like peanut butter and jelly, so I decided that something with both strawberries and chocolate would hit the spot.

After scouring the internet and a couple cookbooks for a recipe, I couldn’t find one that had chocolate pancakes with strawberries in the batter, so I decided to pick a plain chocolate pancake recipe and just add in sliced strawberries.  After a quick google search, I found this one.  I didn’t want to add too many strawberries to the batter, or else it wouldn’t cook properly, so I used the rest to make a quick strawberry syrup to use on top instead of maple syrup.  This was a very tasty idea, and I have some left over to put on other things.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate and strawberries

  1. Jillian says:

    Looks good! But how did you make the syrup?

    • Kathy says:

      Oh! I should have mentioned that. I used about a half pint of strawberries, a half tsp of vanilla, and about a third of a cup of white sugar, put it in a small saucepan over medium heat and let it cook for about 5 minutes, stirring it pretty often to not let it burn. Then I let it cool for a bit, and pulsed it in the blender so that there was still some strawberry chunks left in it. If you have a plastic blender pitcher you might have to let it cool a bit longer, and if you want it smoother, just blend it a little longer. It makes about 3/4 of a cup of sauce.

  2. Pingback: Strawberry kick | ksquared365

Leave a Reply

