One year

One year ago today the Winter Olympics began in Vancouver.  They did get off to a very sad and tragic start, which undoubtedly could have been prevented.  However, after the cross-country torch run which served to incorporate the entire country into the Games, I was highly excited to watch as much of the Olympics as I could.  Actually I am always excited to watch the Olympics.  These ones were just extra special because they were in my country (and only a few time zones away, which means they occurred during the day here, and I could watch a lot of them).  I love to cheer on the Canadian athletes who work so hard to get to the Olympics, which generally only occurs once in their life, depending on what sport they are in.  I sat on a chair in my living room and ate a lot of jelly beans during those two weeks, and sang the national anthem 14 times.

I also fell victim to the Olympics merchandise machine.  However, I thought it was worth it, since who knows when we’ll ever host them again.  So one red, slightly overpriced t-shirt later, I have my very own keepsake to remember these Olympic Games by.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Days of Yore and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

