Maple Leaf Forever

It was nearly a year ago that the Olympics were held in Vancouver.  For months before that, the Olympic torch made its way across the country, carried by runners who ran a few hundred metres at a time.  Each runner got matching track pants and jacket, with mittens and toque.  You had to buy your own torch I think, and they took out the flame holding inner workings, but still, you got a torch.  I know a few people who ran in it, and each one said it was an amazing experience and they’ll never forget it.  I woke up in the middle of the night twice to watch my two cousins run, since they live on the other side of the country and were running at 8am there, which made it several hours earlier than here.

Those mittens were also on sale to the general public for ten bucks.  The stores that sold them were sold out right away and had to wait for way more to come in.  And those sold out instantly too.  Probably everyone in the country has a pair of those mittens.  Except me.  I went on a trip with friends the previous summer to Jasper, and we visited the Icefields, where each of us bought a pair of ridiculously overpriced mittens so we wouldn’t freeze on the glacier.  And mine happen to look nearly exactly like those Olympic ones.  They are just missing the rings.  And I could have bought at least two pairs of the real ones for the price I paid for mine.  Oh well.  I had mine before they were so popular, so I guess I am a trendsetter.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Clothing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

