Zoo

My yard is apparently a zoo.  This summer, I have had two different kinds of rabbits, a few foxes, gophers, 5 deer (who eat all my flowers), and two different stray not tame cats, one of whom lives under my deck in the summer and hangs out with Oscar.  A few weeks ago, a badger also came wandering into the yard.  I don’t really mind having all the animals in the countryside living here, but I would prefer if they do not eat my garden.  Actually, I would also prefer that the badger and gophers not stay here either.  I do not want giant holes all over the place.

I saw the jackrabbits again today bouncing around near the trees, so I went out to try to take pictures of them.  Obviously, they saw me coming and did not remain still.  Oh, well.  The sun was finally out today and, inside my yard at least, it was not very windy.  It was nice to finally have some shadows to create definition, as opposed to the solid ground to sky white/grey we have been experiencing.  Since I could not actually capture the rabbits themselves, I decided to get the next best thing:  footprints.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Animals, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

