Snow Day

Just when I was about to leave for work this morning my dad phoned and said that Mom had phoned when she got to work and told him that the gravel roads between here and where I work (we drive some of the same roads on our way to work) were really snowy.  He suggested that I take my four wheel drive instead of the normal vehicle I take to work which is not a four wheel drive.  On my way out the door, my boss phoned and told me not to bother coming today, since the roads were not great.  Well, I thought, now I can go back to bed.  However, on Saturday, Dad’s plan had been to GrainVac out some bins on a field several miles from home.  But then it blizzarded instead so we didn’t.   So today we drove the tractor out there, cleared the snow, came back got the truck, other tractor and GrainVac and went back there to clean the bins.

The second time the truck was full I just stayed there, while Dad drove back here to unload into a more easily accessible bin that requires much less snow removal to get to.  The bins are on an old yard with a broken down old car, some random buildings and fence posts, and odds and ends of machinery.  The clouds broke just enough for a few minutes to let some sunlight through so that not everything was a solid gray, and made some nice pictures.  Which was a good thing, because when Dad got back and we were half an hour from being done, a bearing went on the Vac, so I didn’t feel much like taking pictures then.  Now we have to spend another three hours moving snow and dragging everything up there, just for half an hour of work.  Bah.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Days of Yore, Farm Life, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

