O Christmas Tree

I love Christmas trees.  Especially real ones.  The fake ones can be really nice too, and they definitely don’t lose any needles.  (Oscar’s favourite thing to do is hide behind the tree and wait for as many needles as possible to fall on his back and then run all over the house dropping the needles.  It’s more fun that way).  One thing that real trees beat fake trees at is the pine smell which pervades one’s home for the first couple days after bringing the tree home.  It’s one of the best smells of the Christmas season.

I went to purchase my tree this year and I think I picked up every 6-7 foot tree in the lot.   My theory is that the heavier the tree is, the fuller it looks.  I have no idea if this is actually true or not, but I pretend it is.  I bought the heaviest one I could find, brought it home, cut three thousand feet of twine off of it (or so it seemed), and waited impatiently for it to unfold.  It turned out to be the perfect Christmas tree shape.  Hurray!  Five strings of lights, four garlands and numerous ornaments later it was finished.  And now I refuse to take it down until at least the middle of January.  Too bad I don’t have my macaroni angels and braided twine wreaths from school.  Maybe I’ll go in search of them in my mom’s house next year.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Plant life, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

