The Cake: The Baking Operation

Friends of mine were married on Sunday.  Just after they got engaged in spring, they asked if I would make their wedding cake.  After some contemplation, I told them I would.  The wedding was quite large, and the cake was going to be the only dessert, so there needed be enough cake for every person to have a slice if they wanted one.  I spent some time googling cake serving charts to see exactly how much cake we would need for two hundred people.  After discussing it with the bride, we decided on a three tier, round wedding cake, and then two smaller, square slab cakes.

So, for quite a few hours in the evenings these past few weeks, I’ve been baking cakes.  I like tall cakes, so each tier needed to have three layers of cake, with two layers of filling.  Here was the general plan:  Round cakes – all vanilla, bottom tier 14 inch round, filled with vanilla pastry cream (bride’s favourite).  Middle tier, 10 inch round, filled with lemon curd.  Top tier, 6 inch round, filled with raspberry whipped cream.  Square cake – one 12 inch, one 10 inch, both chocolate, filled with crushed Oreo whipped cream (groom’s favourite).  So that makes a grand total of 15 layers of cake that needed to be baked.  Due to a small math error that resulted in a really thin cake, and then breaking a layer, I actually made 18 cakes.

I did take some pictures during the process, just in case I ever do this again, but I usually baked at night, and one of the lights in my kitchen is out, so I only got pictures of baking some chocolate ones during the day one time (None of the vanilla ones in progress, but you’ll get the idea).  Since I am not used to this documenting each step of the way business, I didn’t take any pictures of the cakes right after they were baked and I totally forgot to do one of my freezer stuffed full of cake.  Rats.  I’ll remember to do all those things next time.The Cake 002b The Cake 009b The Cake 006_resize The Cake 016_resize The Cake 021_resize

 

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, Food, Weddings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

