Half-Birthday

One of my best friends from Bible college was down for the weekend for a missions conference at the school.  It was actually her half birthday last week.  We used to make fun time out of half birthdays at school, because those of us with birthdays in the summer didn’t get to celebrate our birthdays when we were at school with everyone.  Although this was not necessarily a bad thing, because then we didn’t have to stand on our chairs and have everyone sing to us.  So really, it was a win-win.

So anyway, I went to see her on Saturday and brought her cupcakes for her half-birthday.  I made a one bowl chocolate cupcake from my new Martha Stewart book, and they were so easy and really chocolatey.  Then I used up my leftover caramel sauce and made this salted caramel buttercream.  It was an excellent combination, if I do say so myself.

About Kathy

I'm a twenty-something who loves animals, farming, photography and cooking/baking. Luckily enough, photography works really well with the other three subjects, so I carry my camera around practically everywhere. Other than that, my life is pretty uneventful.
This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, cupcakes, Dessert, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Half-Birthday

  1. Joni says:

    Kathy, thank you for making my half birthday something to be celebrated once again :) and thanks for coming to hang out, it was fun!
    That cupcake was soooooooo good! I finished eating it and instantly wished I had another!

  2. Hilda says:

    This picture reminds me of a conversation I had years ago about butter tarts… is the pastry the best part; or the filling? My response was that the filling is the best, the pastry is the vehicle to to get the filling to your mouth. Looks like the cupcake is the vehicle to get the “topping” to your tastebuds:)

    • Kathy says:

      I would agree with that statement :) And the frosting on this cupcake was definitely the best part so the cupcake was just the carrier, even though it was very good too.

  3. Pingback: Top Twelve | ksquared365

  4. Julie says:

    HAPPY BELATED HALF-BIRTHDAY TO JONI! :) Actually, I suppose this means it’s almost her next half birthday, since M. Conference is nearing again…

Leave a Reply

